
 

 
Office of Senator Marty Block Fact Sheet  ·  02/13/2013  

 
 
 
 
 

 

PURPOSE 

 

This measure will eliminate unregulated gun loans with 

exceptions, including hunting, to limit legal access to 

weapons by persons without a background check.  It 

also will establish an annual Handgun Safety Certificate 

to improve handgun safety.  

 

BACKGROUND 

 

Current law generally requires that all firearm 

transactions (sale, loan, or transfer) between two 

parties must be done through a licensed firearms 

dealer.  However, existing law allows persons who are 

personally known to each other to avoid this 

requirement if the loan is infrequent, is for a lawful 

purpose, and does not exceed 30 days.  This exception 

provides a loophole that could result in persons having 

access to weapons when in fact they are legally 

prohibited from doing so.  This bill will remove this 

loophole.   

 

California’s current Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) 

law is designed to ensure that persons who obtain 

handguns have a basic familiarity with those firearms, 

including but not limited to the safe handling and 

storage of those firearms.  However, the current 

renewal is every five years and only applies to 

purchases of new handguns. 

 

By requiring annual handgun safety training accidental 

handgun violence and accidents can be reduced.  

Examples that the Department of Justice use as 

accidents that could have been avoided if the basic gun 

safety rules had been practiced:  

• Two young children playing in their home 

found a loaded handgun with the magazine 

removed on a bedside table.  

• A handgun owner assumed a handgun was 

unloaded. While cleaning it, he accidentally  

 

 

 

fired the handgun, causing injury to 

himself.  

• While practicing target shooting, a shooter 

was distracted by a noise behind her. She 

turned with her finger on the trigger and 

accidently fired, injuring a person standing 

nearby. 

•  

NEED FOR THE BILL 

 

Every handgun owner should understand and follow 

handgun safety practices, have a basic familiarity with 

the operation, handling, and storage of a handgun, and 

be fully aware of the responsibility of handgun 

ownership. Studies show that easy access to loaded 

handguns in homes is a major cause of accidental 

shootings of children.  

 

In February 2012, a 17-year-old entered Chardon High 

School in Ohio armed with a handgun and fired 10 

rounds in the school’s cafeteria, killing three students 

and wounding two others.  One week earlier, an 8-year-

old girl in Washington was critically wounded in her 

third grade class when a gun accidentally discharged in 

a backpack.   While these two shootings might seem 

very different, the common characteristic is that both 

children acquired their guns in the same way, by taking 

them from their family members’ homes.  

 
In 2010, there were a total of 2,811 gun deaths in 

California including 1,465 gun suicides.  In 2011 

California reported 504 people received unintentional 

injuries from firearms and 96 people had self-inflicted 

injuries caused by guns.  While California currently 

requires a Handgun Safety Certificate when purchasing 

a handgun, there is no annual education or training 

requirements.   

FOR MORE INFORMATION 

 

Office of Senator Marty Block – (916) 651-4039. 

FACT SHEET  
Senator Marty Block (D –39) 

Require Hand Gun Safety Certificate and Eliminate 30 Day Loan Requirement 

 
  


