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Act Relates to Conservator/Attorney Fees 

 
 
BACKGROUND 

Conserved adults who are being 

overcharged by estate managers face a 

dilemma when they go to court to contest 

questionable costs: They must pay the 

conservator’s legal fees – even if a judge 

ultimately finds the conservators had filed 

unjustified or exorbitant bills. 

 

Many times, this gap in the law has placed 

California’s elderly and disabled adults in 

the untenable position of choosing to accept 

the overcharges solely because it will cost 

more to challenge them in court, win or lose. 

 

The upshot: The estates – set up by parents 

to keep their vulnerable sons and daughters 

financially secure when they could no longer 

be there to care for them – are being drained. 

 

In one notable case, a San Jose man 

contested his estate manager’s $108,000 fee 

for four months of work and was able to get 

that fee lowered by a judge. But citing a 

statute, the judge said he had no choice but 

to require the trust pay out nearly $150,000 

in fees to the conservator’s attorney. 

 

As a newspaper investigation pointed out: 

“Under California law, challenging an 

excessive bill presents an astounding 

damned-if-you-do dilemma: A private estate 

manager can bill the cost to defend his 

charges right back to the person who 

protested the bill in the first place.’’  

 

Within the legal community, this situation is 

often referred to as “fees-on-fees’’ and it is 

the author’s strong belief that “fees-on- 

 

fees’’ can exploits victims who are 

legitimately challenging the overbilling of 

their estates. 

 

It is unconscionable to use elderly and 

disabled adults’ limited financial resources 

to pay their trustees to fight against 

themselves. 

THIS BILL 

 

SB 156 provides judges with greater 

discretion to protect estates from exorbitant 

billing and fees. The bill also balances the 

scales by creating a “loser pays’’ scenario in 

which both sides risk paying their 

opponent’s legal fees if they lose.  

 

Under SB 156, if a conservatee objects to 

charges for services by their estate manager 

and the court reduces those charges the 

conservatee is deemed the prevailing party 

and the court may award the legal costs of 

objecting to the fees to the conservatee.  

 

Should the court make no reduction in fees, 

the conservator is deemed the prevailing 

party and the court may award the attorney 

costs that were incurred in the defense of the 

charges. The charges and the fees would be 

paid from the estate of the conservatee. 

 

SB 156 recognizes that a “one size fits all’’ 

solution does not apply to every case. Under 

the bill, a court can decide to reduce fees 

and not award the conservatee’s costs 

related to the litigation.  If the reduction was 

small, a judge might rule no reimbursement 



is awarded to the prevailing party. 

 

Under AB 156, attorney fees, in any amount, 

may only be awarded to the prevailing party. 

SB 156 ensures that everyone has skin in the 

game.  It will give unscrupulous executors 

pause. 

 

It will act as a deterrent to any unfair 

padding of costs, thereby reducing number 

of contested fee dispute cases in probate 

court.  

 

And for the conservatees or their families 

who do file frivolous objections, SB 156 

allows a judge to award conservators their 

legal fees incurred.  
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